Hey Little Brother

Hey little brother, I can see you.

You’re standing there, with your feet planted,
And a defiant glint in your eyes,
A carefree smirk across your lips.

That upward tilt to your chin is oh so familiar.

Hey little brother, I can see you.

You think that no one could possibly understand,
And you just want to know why we can’t leave you alone,
And allow you to live your life anyway you can.

I’ve wondered that myself.

Hey little brother, I can see you.

I’m telling you now, that the drugs?
They don’t solve anything.
At the end of the day you’ll still hurt.

And you will remember everything.

Hey little brother, I can see you.

Because I’ve watched you grow up,
And I’m watching you grow away,
From the people that love you the most.

The ones who aren’t sure what to say.

Hey little brother, I can see me.

Every time I look into your eyes.
There’s a crazed panic in them,
That only a kindred soul could recognize.

There’s still time to change.

Hey little brother, can you see me?

I’m living proof.
You can walk away from it all,
Make it all okay.

But that is a decision that has to be made by you.

Hey little brother, I can see you

Leave a Reply

