Untitled

Moments that seem to never end,
Ones I’m not quite sure where they begin,
They’re circling me now.

Slowing my head down.

There’s a tightness in my chest,
And I can’t breathe.
It’s like the world is
Closing in on me.

And it’s weighing me down.

I’d scream but there’s water in my lungs,
I can’t lift my feet,
There’s no way to run
Away from everything you’ve ever said to me.

I can hear it all even now.

Broken words and shards of promises
They lay on the ground
You’re the start of this!
Start of the scratching in my throat.

I’m swallowing glass now.

Because my pride it’s sharp
With jagged edges
You shrug like it’s an apology
And I should fall to the floor with forgiveness.

Like there’s no sense in wondering how

How could you do this to me?
How was I too blind to see?
Was there no warning?
Why is there a war in me?

I need to win and I don’t know how.

You cannot win what you don’t understand
And there’s no getting this
This distance
Between us.

Leave a Reply

